Joaquim Font award

The Joaquim Font award is given to the student who completes the degree in Computer Science with the best academic record.

Professor Joaquim Font i Arjó (1958-2010) received a master’s degree and a doctorate in Mathematics from the University of Barcelona. He began his teaching and research work in the former Departament de Matemàtica Aplicada i Anàlisi. In 2000 he received the commission from the president of the university to initiate the studies of Technical Engineering in Computer Systems, of which he was the first Head of Studies.

His research was developed in the field of Celestial Mechanics, studying aspects of the restricted three-body problem and galactic potentials. One remembers his passion for teaching and the great dedication to the creation and the impulse of the studies of computer science at the UB.

With the intention of making these studies visible, the Faculty of Mathematics changed the official name by Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science and has instituted this award for the 2017-2018 year with the sponsorship of GMS Management Solutions company. The prize is awarded ex officio to the best Computer Sciences academic record without having to formally present it.

The prize consists of a diploma and 1,000€ (with the exception of legal deductions), which are received at the awards and diplomas ceremony. It is held every year in the Paranimf of the UB at fall.

Call 2018-2019

Call 2019-2020

Call  2020-2021

Call 2021-2022


Winners of the Joaquim Font Award

Course Winner
2021-2022 Nil Ballús Riu
2020-2021 Martí Pedemonte Bernat
2019 – 2020 Sergio Montoya de Paco
2018 – 2019 Martí Huerta Climent
2017 – 2018 Dolça Tellols Asensi